[230529] So Dam Re-Start with Elle Interview

So Dam has discussed with Elle regarding about her new journey as an actor.

Her name, So Dam, means for pristine and simple. And true to her name, So Dam has never been pretentious or arrogant. She is simply an actor who is passionate about acting.

What is your favorite between variety, movies, K-drama, or stage theater?

It’s harder to pick which one is the best because each of them have individual charm, K-drama and movies need to perform in front of the camera and collaborate with various elements, while stage theater interact and communicate with the audience, which is also very attractive point.

There is a saying, “Opportunities are reserved for those who are prepared.”

I will read the script carefully, analyze it, and then discuss and ask the director. In order to understand my role, I will also fully communicate with the senior and junior actors, and doing so will not only help us to get to know each other better, but also have a better understanding with each other.

How to liven up the role?

I will try to think of many different scenarios, and then on the scene, as that character, I will show it realistically, and try to respond to various situations on the scene to create new things.

Some people think that actors only need to act according to the script, but to truly play a role, not only a thorough understanding of the character’s character is required, but also the creativity of the actor is required.

As an actor, creativity is really important! Innovative ideas are the basis for enriching and expressing my unique performance style. In order to further enhance my creativity, I like to watch various types of film and communicate with different actors. It helps broaden my horizons and experience in different worlds, and it also helps my acting skills a lot. At the same time, I can also gain a lot of positivity.

Accepting any challenge, a good script is the soul of a good film work, and it is also the anchor of actors.

If I think the script is interesting, I believe the audience will also find it interesting to watch my performance. I am not afraid of challenges and hope to show a different side in the new film.

I’m not limited to any particular subject or genre, as long as I can digest it well. I don’t want to limit myself to any one kind of character, I want to play different characters, I want to try action movies, sometimes I want to try villains, and I want to try romantic comedies! I really have a lot of characters I want to do. (laughing)

Most Challenging Role?

Probably Eunha from Special Delivery!

I had a car accident before, so I was a little afraid of driving a car. Later, I met the character Eunha in Special Delivery. During the whole filming process, I drove safely under the protection of the team, which get rid of the fear of driving. I can soon drive freely in my daily life, I feel really lucky, and I really appreciate the dedication and care of the production team. Therefore, Special Delivery is a very challenging work for me.

I’m about to be in the K-drama called Death’s Game based on a well-known webtoon about a man named Injae who goes through 12 deaths and lives before falling into hell, and my character is Death! I’m really excited to play such a mysterious character for the first time! Please also look forward to it!

About her health

During the filming of Ghost (Phantom), I wasn’t in great shape, I just felt like I was burnt out. My body kept ringing alarms, but I kept thinking it was just an emotional issue.

About ten tumors were removed during the operation, two of which had metastasized to the lymph nodes. If the operation was delayed, I would probably lose my vocal cords. Fortunately, it was removed in time and I was able to rest and treat well. At that time, my voice disappeared for about two months, after which my body began to slowly recover in all aspects. Now that I am able to recover and speak with my voice, I am truly grateful and blessed.

Of course it would be best not to get sick, but even so, I still feel that this experience has had a positive impact on me. During my recuperation, I thought about many questions, such as: Who am I? What kind of life do I want to live? During the process, I deeply realized the importance of self-reflection and rest, and I need to have time to fully focus on myself. Also, I now understand that making time for myself is a must, if I want to be able to connect with audiences in the future. So I asked myself, ‘What can I do now that I haven’t done before?’

I used to be busy with work and thought that traveling would only waste my energy, but now I feel that traveling can bring me a recharge effect. Traveling has taught me more about myself.

Sunbae’s Advice

Sunbae always told me, So Dam ah, you have to take a good rest. After filming, go on a trip to reward yourself!

During the filming and promotion of the movie Ghost, I received a lot of generous gifts from Honey unnie. Even now, if I encounter any troubles or difficulties, I will call Honey unnie without hesitation.

1 Comment

  1. Really, she is perfect and was born ready to act!
    I am touched by the friendship and empathy with Honey Lee, who is a great mom and a wonderful person and very sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment